Yoga in the 21st Century

In the past decades, Yoga has merged into our mainstream culture. This speaks of fantastic forward momentum in our human development. An understanding of the basic tenets of Yoga Philosophy will further enhance one’s spiritual growth and maturity. The following 8 Limbs of Patanjali form the ethical code of Yoga practices.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga
  1. Yama – Refraining from destructive behaviors
  2. Niyama – Cultivation of constructive behaviors
  3. Asana – Ability to maintain ease in bodily posture
  4. Pranayama – Understanding of breath and its effects on the mind and personal energy
  5. Pratyahara – Ability to internalize attention
  6. Dharana – Ability to concentrate
  7. Dhyana – Ability to meditate
  8. Samadhi – Experience of the Unity of All Life

Anne’s Yoga Background

Ashtanga Vinyasa

An advanced series of Yoga postures with emphasis on breath and movement synchronization.

  • Direct student of K Pattabhi Jois – Mysore, India
  • Practitioner from 1988
  • Teacher from 1990, nationally and internationally
  • Owner and Director of the Ashtanga Yoga Centers, San Diego 1999-2007


A slow moving Vinyasa practice with emphasis on breath and movement.

Iyengar Yoga

Yoga postures sequenced for specific purposes; strong emphasis on structural alignment and precision.

  • Direct studies with BKS Iyengar, 1986 – Pune, India
  • Practitioner from 1983

Sivananda Yoga

Classical Yoga postures using extended rests; includes seated breath work (pranayama).

  • Direct studies with Swami Vishnudevananda
  • Teacher certified 1980 by Swami Shankarananda for Sivananda Ashram. Grass Valley, CA
  • Teacher from 1980-1984